Thursday, 21 September 2017

Sleeplessness And Mental Health

Many people lose sleep today for various reasons. The number of tech distractions that are keeping us away from the bed or is prompting us to push our bedtimes further is ever increasing yet we don’t seem to be alarmed by the fact that we depend so much on these smart gadgets. Chronic sleeplessness is not good, though, as sleep itself is a recuperative process everyone needs in order to grow strong and healthy. Not only do you feel much better, alert, energized, and have the presence of mind but sleeping is generally good for our body – and that encompasses all body organs.

What most of us fail to realize is how much our mental health also deteriorates if we constantly lack sleep by pulling up all-nighters. We often think sleep may just affect our body and attention span the following day but it does far more damage that we are just finding out over the past few years now. Various studies have been conducted to determine the correlation between poor sleep and a person’s mental well-being and the results just confirmed most of our suspicions all along. Night owls in general or those who always lack sleep are at highest risk of developing depression and other psychological issues than people who enjoy a good night’s sleep.

Mental health problems including psychotic experiences could in part be down to a lack of sleep, researchers have revealed.

A new study found that people who had undertaken a course of cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) designed specifically to treat insomnia not only found their sleep improved, but also experienced reduced paranoia and fewer hallucinations - both psychotic experiences - as well as improvements in depression and anxiety.

“The dominant view is that sleep [problems are] either a symptom of several mental health problems or it is a secondary consequence,” said Daniel Freeman, co-author of the research from the University of Oxford. “Really, sleep is one of the contributing causes.”

(Via: https://www.theguardian.com/society/2017/sep/06/lack-of-sleep-could-contribute-to-mental-health-problems-researchers-reveal)

If you find yourself unable to sleep at night, there are actually various methods you can try to overcome insomnia or you can even get treated for it to save you from all the hassles. Getting treated is better than constantly lose sleep and you'll learn the hard way as you age. Even if you are young, it is not an assurance that you’ll live long especially that you can’t put down your smartphone at night and keep on pushing your bedtime until the wee hours of the morning.

New research has found that treating insomnia with online cognitive behavioral therapy could in turn help treat mental health problems such as anxiety, depression, and paranoia.

Carried out by researchers at the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute, University of Oxford, the team set out to try to improve sleep in a group of university students with insomnia to look at sleep's effect on paranoia (excessive mistrust), anxiety, and depression.

(Via: http://www.ctvnews.ca/health/treating-insomnia-first-can-help-with-mental-health-problems-1.3580663)

Others would like to think that it is their depression or mental health problems that causing them sleep but it can also be that they developed that condition because their body loses a lot on all those sleepless nights. Sleeplessness causes your immunity significantly went down and they are unable to cope with the stresses of this world that they ended up sick in the long run.

You shouldn’t take your health lightly and the quality of your sleep has a big impact to how healthy you stay in your lifetime. Even a minor problem like snoring may actually be a bigger problem such as sleep apnea, so better get yourself checked right away for interventions to be given. There are anti-snoring mouthpieces you can use that not only reduce the snoring but correct the anatomical deformity that makes you prone to sleep apnea. Here’s one you should check out: https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/good-morning-snore-solution that may be a good fit for you or something like this: https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx that is also used by many sleep apnea sufferers. Lost sleep can never be regained so get to the bottom of your problem to save your sanity as well.

Sleeplessness And Mental Health Read more on: The Snoring Mouthpiece Review Blog



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/sleep-health/sleeplessness-and-mental-health

Sunday, 17 September 2017

The Sleep Clinic Boom

Sleeping is more of a luxury for many folks these days. It is rare for people to get that needed eight hours of sleep daily. Most of the time, it is normal for a person to lack sleep, especially if they have a deadline to catch or they are busy with a certain event that they lose track of time because of all the preparations. However, people rarely get themselves checked or treated for lacking sleep. I mean, you just have to deal with it and get on with your life even if you didn’t sleep well the night before. It is something you don’t talk openly to other people.

However, a lot has changed over the years. People are more open now in discussing the various health issues they have to deal with in secret like their sleeping habits. The number of sleep clinics these days is a testament to how people take their sleep seriously today. Numerous studies show that your health deteriorates with chronic sleep deprivation. People are increasingly becoming more health conscious that our modern sedentary lifestyle is quickly catching up to us. If you truly suffer in your sleep, you can confirm it after undergoing sleep tests in reputable sleep clinics.

Not too long ago, sleep was barely on the radar of concerns for the vast majority of businesses, neither in regards to employee wellness nor as a way to reach consumers. Typically, the issue of sleep was treated as an afterthought or inconvenience.

And while bragging about perpetual sleep deprivation and burning the candle at both ends is still a commonplace for many, in the past few years, perspectives have started to shift. A growing body of research and increased public awareness of sleep has led this trend.

In turn, the new awareness of sleep has awakened industries both old and new on several fronts.

  1. The elevated awareness of sleep’s benefits and necessity

In the past decade, science has made significant headway into understanding sleep. While it may seem like a basic function, shuteye is actually quite complex and interconnected with several other aspects of mental and physical health.

(Via: https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/248030)

Some people actually feel uncomfortable at first at the thought of spending the night in a sleep clinic that is so sterile you feel overly conscious. Then, you’d be strapped all over with leads and a stranger is watching your every move all throughout your stay. Mind you that the real action actually happens once you sleep. But as uncomfortable it may seem, a stay at a sleep clinic can do you more good than whatever it is you are worried about especially if you really are suffering from an undiagnosed sleep disorder.

Lisa: Would you talk about the risks of not treating sleep apnea?

Dr. Gosman: Not treating sleep apnea can cause long term health issues, including high blood pressure, strokes and heart attacks. It can also limit a person’s abilities to perform duties at work, operate a car or heavy machinery safely.

Lisa: Debbie, can you tell us about a sleep study, what it is and what it will tell you?

Debbie: Patients watch a short video so they know what to expect and have an opportunity to ask any questions. Then the patient settles into one of the center’s hotel-like rooms.

During the study, we measure their oxygen and monitor their heart rate. Generally, once the patient lies down and realizes that they can sleep on their side if that’s more comfortable, most patients do well.

(Via: http://www.nrtoday.com/life/health/important-to-get-sleep-disorder-treated/article_f35d55b2-097e-5ee9-be58-db30348b2585.html)

Two types of people get tested in sleep clinics. First, the ones who volunteer to get tested oh so desperately. Second, there are the ones who are still in denial of their condition and quite clueless of what to expect. In particular, patients with sleep apnea are afraid of the unknown. Many of them don’t know what happens during sleep tests. They think it might be painful especially that electronic leads will be attached to them. They’re also conscious about how to act when someone is watching their every move. They’re even conscious if others can tell what they are dreaming about. Some find it hard to drift off the sleep but despite these initial worries, they still manage to sleep and get tested after all.

More often than not, the culprit is sleep apnea. It is a deadly sleep disorder that causes breathing pauses in your sleep and may lead to sudden death if not treated right away. Better get it over with and get on the waiting list of the nearest sleep clinic now than suffer in silence in your sleep, or better yet, the lack of it. You’d likely get prescribed to have CPAP or a similar snoring mouthpiece or gadget that can address any physical aberration and prevent those deadly breathing pauses during your sleep. Try https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/zquiet or https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx. Both are convenient to use and works great. You can now sleep soundly at night without worrying if you’d still be able to wake up the next day.

The article The Sleep Clinic Boom is available on https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/blog/sleep-clinics

Monday, 11 September 2017

Lack Of Sleep Effects: Are You Getting Dumber?

Some people have a love-hate relationship with sleep. It just does not make any sense how some people can loathe sleeping when it offers us a temporary reprieve from all of our worries in life. Aside from that, we feel better upon arising because our body had a chance to rest and recuperate in our slumber. Sleep has a lot of benefits and it’s pretty obvious why we need it in our lives even if we aren’t always thrilled that our body demands it so much from us.

However, the world is now filled with tech distractions that take our time away from what few hours we have left for sleep. During the day, our schedule is often jam-packed from sunrise to sunset as we try to survive the daily commute, daily grind, and everything else everybody expects from us throughout the day. More often than not, we sacrifice sleep to increase our productiveness. We extend our day all through the wee hours of the morning as we try to catch up on deadlines. What we fail to realize is that we do our body more harm by skipping sleep than what we like to believe.

A chronic lack of sleep not only impairs cognitive abilities but also increases the risk of heart disease and diabetes. Current research discussed at the Congress of the European Academy of Neurology in Amsterdam show that not only the amount of sleep is important but also whether it is done at the right time.

"Too little sleep reduces our cognitive abilities and has a negative impact on physical health. Unfortunately, this crucial topic is still all too often undervalued in the health care sector," warned Prof Pierre Maquet, head of the Neurology Department at Li├Ęge University in Belgium at the 3rd Congress of the European Academy of Neurology (EAN) in Amsterdam.

1.5 hours less sleep than our grandparents

On average, Americans today sleep 6.5 hours a night and Europeans about seven. Prof Maquet: "This is about one and a half hours less than our grandparents used to sleep. That means we suffer from a chronic lack of sleep." Not least, this situation impacts the processing of information in the brain. Prof Maquet: "Above all else, a lack of sleep impairs the ability to retain new information in the memory. The information can be absorbed but not permanently stored in the brain. Instead, it is lost in the long term. Apparently the memory traces laid down following every new item of information remain fragile until they are firmed up and incorporated in the long-term memory while a person is asleep."

(Via: http://www.news-medical.net/news/20170624/Chronic-lack-of-sleep-reduces-cognitive-abilities-negatively-impacts-physical-health.aspx)

Sleep deprivation can leave you like a literal walking zombie. You may be awake but your mind is drifting somewhere else because it is simply exhausted. Your body has a natural sleep drive that will signal your brain it needs sleep but if you keep on ignoring it, it may start to malfunction.

Don’t forget that new memory and learning pathways are formed during sleep. You need to sleep adequately for these pathways to even form. Moreover, memories are only formed once your brain encodes it. But the brain can only encode a certain memory if you paid attention to it when you did it. You’ll have a hard time remembering anything that happened during the day if you weren’t able to consolidate all these information at night during your sleep.

Perhaps you won’t realize how you’re slowly becoming unhappy since not lack of sleep also inhibits your basic brain functions. Such important daily activities as problem solving skills, creative thought, and stress management become crippled with seven or less hours of sleep. According to a University of Rochester study, when you’re asleep, your brain works to remove toxic proteins from itself. However, it is unable to do this while you’re awake, and the greater the buildup of these toxic proteins, the worse it is for your mind.

Not all sleepless nights happen by choice. Issues like anxiety, an overabundance of school work or insomnia are just a few major contributing factors to not being able to sleep. However, these are generally not choices people make to be part of their lives.

Next time you’re hanging out with friends and one of them gloats about their lack of sleep, understand what they’re advocating for – becoming a dumber, fatter cry baby of a person and putting reciprocal pressure on others to be this way as well, because, as the author John Ray once wrote – misery loves company. 

(Via: http://www.montanakaimin.com/opinion/college-sleep-culture-is-toxic/article_addb1112-f4a3-11e6-8f05-0340dc8dc135.html)

There is nothing worth glorifying when you boast about your chronic sleepless state. Your body sacrifices greatly if you keep up this lifestyle. Your health deteriorates and you perform poorly on various aspects of life especially on activities that require you to think and solve problems. If you are not intellectually-gifted yourself, try to save yourself from more misfortune or embarrassment by getting that needed shut-eye each night. Your body deserves to rest after a hard day’s work, so don’t deprive it of the chance to rest once night time falls. Tomorrow is another day and leave your work as it is.

Other times, you lose sleep not of your own volition. Certain sleep disorders prevent you from enjoying a good night’s sleep. Take sleep apnea for example. The loud snoring sound isn’t just absolutely irritating but the breathing pauses in your sleep are even scarier. If you aren’t comfortable with CPAP and are looking for a more convenient solution to your snoring, https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx may be an excellent choice for you. Another alternative can be https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/good-morning-snore-solution. These mouthpieces are designed to correct certain anatomical problems to reduce the breathing pauses and the consequential snoring that follows.

The following article Lack Of Sleep Effects: Are You Getting Dumber? See more on: The Snoring Mouthpiece Review Blog



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx/lack-of-sleep-effects

Monday, 4 September 2017

A Way To Overcome Sleep Apnea

Sleep is a luxury in our modern, technologically-crazed world. We have so many tech distractions that it is hard for us to get some well-deserved R&R when we get home after a day of going after our personal pursuits. Most adults are overworked and stressed out from the daily grind that all they want to do when they get home is to sleep, but unfortunately, it isn’t as easy as it seems.

Sleep disorders can be the bane of some people’s existence. Imagine tossing and turning each night until the wee hours of the morning because no matter how you will yourself to sleep, you can’t. Other times, the awful loud snoring of your partner keeps you up all night. And it’s even scarier for the person with sleep apnea because of the occasional pauses in their breathing that is quite deadly, if you ask me.

Sleep apnea is a serious condition in which you repeatedly stop breathing or have shallow breaths while you sleep. When this happens, you may snore loudly or making choking noises as you try to breathe. Your brain and body become oxygen-deprived, and you may wake up. This may happen a few times a night, or in more severe cases, hundreds of times during the night.

More than 18 million American adults have sleep apnea, and many cases are undiagnosed.

Main types of sleep apnea

Obstructive sleep apnea. This is the more common form, which occurs when throat muscles relax. When the muscles relax, your airway narrows or closes as you breathe in, and you can't get an adequate breath. This may lower the level of oxygen in your blood.

Your brain senses this inability to breathe and briefly awakens you from sleep so that you can reopen your airway. This awakening is usually so brief that you don't remember it.

You may make a snorting, choking or gasping sound. This pattern can repeat itself five to 30 times or more each hour, all night long. These disruptions impair your ability to reach the desired deep, restful phases of sleep, and you'll probably feel sleepy during your waking hours.

(Via: http://www.mankatofreepress.com/healthyhabits/do-i-have-sleep-apnea/article_677198f2-2f3d-11e7-908e-d3b73a4eac4b.html)

You’d be surprised that many people actually suffer from it. However, let us just make it clear that not all snorers have sleep apnea. It’s just that snoring is one of its most popular yet annoying symptoms. But past the irritating sound, it actually is a serious condition that needs medical attention.

Technology is bringing relief to people who suffer from sleep apnea.
Instead of a big, loud, clunky mask, a small implant in the chest is helping patients get a better night's sleep.
Joe Truglio tried everything to cure his sleep apnea.
"I was stopping breathing 30 times an hour, now I don't at all," he said.
He also suffered from asthma and A-Fib, and he was stressing out his wife and daughter.
So he listened when his cardiologist suggested he get the latest technology: an implant that would make sure once he fell asleep, it was lights out.
"The first day they turned it on, that night I slept 10 hours straight without getting up, first time in my life," said Joe.
He said his mood, skin and energy level are all better. "I don't get tired in the afternoon anymore," he said.

(Via: http://abc13.com/health/new-device-helping-people-who-suffer-from-sleep-apnea/1952220/)

While we often blame technology for keeping us wide awake when we should be sleeping already, you can actually benefit from it now and offer relief if not a total cure from sleep apnea. Why suffer in silence when there is help available. All you need to do is to seek help and get medical attention because doctors can offer solutions to your sleeping issues like https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/zquiet. If you want another option, you can also try https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/vitalsleep so you no longer miss out on that much-needed snooze especially when the lights are off and everyone else is asleep except for you.

A Way To Overcome Sleep Apnea was initially seen on https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/zquiet/a-way-to-overcome-sleep-apnea

Sunday, 27 August 2017

Smart Devices Can Mess Up A Kid’s Sleep Big Time

Sleep is important for normal growth and development regardless of age. However, it is more important for kids to get enough sleep each night than adults as their bodies are growing. If you see infants sleeping most of the time and see rapid growth and development over the first year of their life, it is the same for toddler and young kids.

Unfortunately, there are more distractions now than the last time most adults were kids themselves. If play and a little television used to distract kids back in the days making them hate taking naps or sleeping early at night, smart gadgets are the latest craze these days. Most kids now have their own smartphones, iPad or tablet that they can use whenever they want. Parents are also mostly busy and unable to supervise what their kids watch or how often they stay glued to the screen.

Touchscreen devices like smartphones and tablets are now fixtures of many households, so it comes as little surprise to learn that young children who don’t work or go to school are among their most active users. In the first study of its kind, researchers have learned that infants and toddlers who spend more time on these devices sleep less at night. It’s a troubling finding, but the reasons for these sleep disruptions are still unclear.

Traditional screen time, like television and video games, has been linked to sleep problems in children, but less is known about portable touchscreens, such as smartphones and tablets. In the first study to investigate potential links between touchscreens and sleep in young children, a research team led by Tim Smith from Birkbeck University of London has found that the same sleep disruption effect applies to these modern devices. By surveying parents about their kids’ touchscreen use and sleep patterns, these researchers have found that every additional hour of tablet or smartphone use among children between the ages of six months and three years results in about 15 minutes less total sleep. These findings now appear in Scientific Advances.

(Via: https://gizmodo.com/kids-who-use-touchscreen-devices-sleep-less-at-night-1794270842)

Allowing young kids to have daily continuous access to smart gadgets is the norm these days. Parents indulge their kids with unlimited gadget use so the youngsters can pass the time without bothering their busy and often stressed out parents.

There's been a sharp rise in the number of children admitted to hospital with sleep problems, and the North West has some of the worst numbers in the country.

Hospital attendance for sleeping disorders has tripled over last decade and it's claimed there're big gaps in support for parents across the North West.

(Via: http://www.itv.com/news/granada/update/2017-04-10/why-has-there-been-an-increase-in-children-with-sleep-problems/)

Children have a hard time drifting off to sleep at night on a regular bedtime schedule because it’s mainly their parent’s fault for being too lenient. Everyone suffers when they lack sleep and you wouldn’t want to compromise the health of young kids because lost sleep is lost sleep, period.

Ogunbosi told NAN on Thursday that children under the age of five were often admitted into the hospital for sleep disorders.

“The most common cause of their sleep problem is ‘sleep apnoea’, where breathing is interrupted during sleep.

“However, sometimes there is no obvious cause of a child’s sleep problem.

“Children and teenagers need at least nine hours of sleep per night. Sleep problems and lack of sleep can have negative effects on a child’s performance at school.

“It could also affect the child’s extracurricular activities and social relationships.”

According to the paediatrician, accidents and injuries, behavioural problems, mood swings, memory and learning problems, performance problems and slow reaction to issues are often attributed to sleep disorder.

(Via: https://lifestyle.thecable.ng/children-teenagers-doctor-sleep/)

The problem is that kids these days get to tinker with technology at a very young age, which should not be the case. Parents should also enforce a regular bedtime schedule for kids to follow at all cost. Smart gadget use should be limited and they shouldn’t be allowed to access all sites that they want. Kids need enough sleep to rest and recharge like what adults need or they may end up lacking the energy to go through their day and feel tired and sleepy at school that may eventually affect their grades.

There are times when children also suffer from sleep disorders like sleep apnea despite their young age. They can benefit from GMSS: https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/good-morning-snore-solution or the leader in the MAD field, the SnoreRX: https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx to help them sleep better. Conventional treatments like CPAP and surgery are often not ideal for younger children because of the discomfort and risk involved. What’s easier to do is to take that gadget away from your kid and let him/her experience life first-hand and not through games or videos they see on the web. With active play, they would likely end up feeling exhausted at the end of the day and won’t have a hard time falling asleep by themselves.

The following blog post Smart Devices Can Mess Up A Kid’s Sleep Big Time was first published to The Snoring Mouthpiece Review Blog



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx/smart-devices-can-mess-up-a-kids-sleep-big-time

Sunday, 20 August 2017

How Can You Strike A Balance Between Sleep And Technology?

When you ask any adult what they want most in life but is often out of their reach, their answer would probably be to get a good night’s sleep. We used to hate being told to go to sleep when we were kids and we'd try to wiggle our way out of an afternoon nap. But as we grow older and we take on more life responsibilities, we realize how important sleep is as we desperately try to stay awake through the night because of school or work obligations.

Now, there is also technology that fights for your attention aside from your daily chores and pursuits. Back in the days, we had nothing left to do once the lights go out. But today, we can still stay awake for hours at night because our smartphone gives us access to the World Wide Web and our social media accounts where we live our virtual life. But if technology gets in the way of your sleep, is still there something you can do about this or is this now the plight of the modern human?

We’ve all heard the reports concerning how technology, particularly our phones and tablets, can mess with our sleep cycle through the blue light they emit.

Although there are some very real concerns about how technology affects our rest, not all of it is seen in a negative light, and today I’m going to give you a quick run down of the good, the bad and the very ugly of technology in the bedroom.

The Good

Technology is ingrained into our everyday life with the advancements of high speed connections, affordable internet, instant social connections and even influences how we shop. Therefore, it makes sense that it would seep into our bedrooms in ways we haven’t considered or even paid attention to.

But it also has a bad side to it…

The Bad

Most of us sleep with our phones near us and it is the last thing we look at before we drift off to sleep each night. But how many of you find yourself unable to fall asleep readily, or struggling to calm your thoughts in order to get to sleep? If you’ve ever wondered why you have these issues, look no further than the technology in your bedroom.

(Via: http://southfloridareporter.com/technology-changing-way-sleep/)

It is quite obvious that we lack sleep because we devote too much of our time fiddling with different gadgets. As technology advances and offered us devices like smartphones and tablets where you can do virtually everything and get connected to almost everyone on the web, striking a balance between technology use and sleeping time all boils down to your self-discipline.

There’s an old saying in sleep medicine: bedrooms are for slumber, sex and nothing else. Nowadays, though, that idea is all but obsolete — thanks to the all-invading domination of smartphones, tablets and laptops.

Yet a wealth of research demonstrates why everyone should banish screens from the bedroom — even if they’re switched off. And it’s not just because of the light they generate.

Experts fear the havoc they wreak on our sleep is sentencing us — and our children — to lives dogged by obesity, diabetes and even Alzheimer’s.

The Mail reported on the latest evidence, with NHS data showing that in the past decade, hospital attendances in England for children under 14 with sleep disorders have tripled.

And it’s their use of mobile technology that is being blamed. Phone and tablet screens are now a mainstay of teenagers’ bedrooms. Studies show that seven in ten British children and nine in ten teenagers have at least one device in their bedrooms.

(Via: http://www.iol.co.za/lifestyle/family/sleep/why-your-phone-is-keeping-you-awake-at-night-8077191)

While most findings point to technology as the culprit of sleep deprivation and the worsening of existing sleep disorders, it can also be used to your advantage.

Various sleep apps, which use a motion-tracker and/or a sound-recorder, claim to tap into those circadian rhythms, by apparently monitoring sleep patterns. A “smart alarm” will then wake you in a light sleep cycle that is nearest your ideal wake time.

These apps generally fall into two standard forms: fitness trackers that have sleep-tracking capabilities (typically involving a wearable sensor or wristband that tracks your body movements as you sleep) or smartphone apps that use an accelerometer built to record your movements.

(Via: http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/can-technology-really-improve-the-quality-of-your-sleep-1.2862604)

There are other options to choose from aside from these sleeping apps. If you find yourself tossing and turning each night and waking up more exhausted than the night before, you are likely suffering from a sleeping disorder like sleep apnea. The usual sleeping tips do not work here because this is a medical condition that needs a medical management as well.

You can try using an anti-snoring mouthpiece like this one: https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/good-morning-snore-solution to help you beat snoring and maintain continuous airflow during sleep. If you want to find out more alternatives before choosing one, you can likewise check out https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx for another anti-snoring device you can use to let you enjoy a good night’s sleep. Of course, minimizing technology use can also help a lot for you to feel relaxed during bedtime, so you sleep better through the night.

How Can You Strike A Balance Between Sleep And Technology? is courtesy of TSMR



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx/how-can-you-strike-a-balance-between-sleep-and-technology

Sunday, 13 August 2017

Is There Help Available For The Sleep Deprived?

People get grumpy when they lack sleep. You are easily annoyed and everything just pisses you off. You trudge through the day not really fully understanding what’s going on and you feel tired and exhausted all the time. With a good night’s sleep, you’ll have the energy to conquer your day and even have time to hang out with family or friends at the end of the day.

That is how important sleep is. Your day is pretty much ruined if you decide to go to work or school with only a few hours of sleep to fuel you. Sleep deprivation can either be acute or chronic and your lifestyle has a lot of influence over this. A lot of people these days are night owls who are up all night and sleep during the day.

Our nation is rife with over-worked, sleep deprived people. This epidemic seems to have become embedded into our realities, with only one third of adults reporting they get enough sleep every night. What makes sleep deprivation so harmful is that it doesn’t simply impact one area of health, but each physical, mental, and emotional aspect of it.

Our deepest hours of sleep occur during a period called slow-wave sleep. During this time, our bodies are less responsive to any sounds and movements going on around us. Not only is dreaming more common during slow-wave sleep, it’s also when the majority of mental and physical restoration takes place. When someone stays up all night, they disrupt this important period of sleep, potentially disrupting growth and cell-reparation.

In addition to growth and cell repair, a lack of sleep affects metabolism. A study in the journal Annals of Internal Medicine shows that getting four hours of sleep for four nights in a row makes people’s bodies resistant to insulin, which is a common cause of weight gain and diabetes. You’ve probably experienced a craving for junk food after not getting enough sleep. This happens because sleep deprivation lowers levels of leptin and raises levels of ghrelin, increasing our cravings for carbs and sweets.

(Via: http://www.phillyvoice.com/05999-heres-what-sleep-deprivation-does-your-body/)

Gaining weight is a common complaint among people who always pull all-nighters because the body actually has a hard time burning off calories when we lose sleep. Remember that there is a big difference between sleeping during the day and sleeping at night, which is how nature designed for our body to rest and recuperate.

What’s different today is that insufficient sleep — going to bed too late, getting up too early or both — seems to be more common, said B. Tucker Woodson, chief of sleep medicine at Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin.

“A lot of us live on less (sleep) and try to adapt,” he said. “We become used to it. We think we are performing well when we are not.”

The reasons are partly tied to modern life. We are more scheduled than ever; our eating patterns are inconsistent; activities extend into the evening; work never really ends. We live in a wired world, and it doesn't stop at our bedroom door.

A 2014 survey by the National Sleep Foundation found that 62% of parents and 45% of children had televisions in their bedroom, while 45% of parents and 30% of children had a tablet or smartphone.

Only 16% of parents and 28% of children had no electronic device in their bedroom.

(Via: http://www.jsonline.com/story/news/health/breathe/2017/04/17/s-time-wake-up-dangers-sleep-deprivation/99877990/)

It is hard for people to sleep eight hours a day at night anymore. Technology has a lot to do with it so are smart gadgets. Back in the days, you have nothing left to do when you turn off the light at night but to sleep. If you can’t, then you just have to make do and count sheep. Unfortunately today, smart gadgets are everywhere along with access to the Internet. Instead of trying to drift off to sleep when we hit the bed, we can’t resist the urge to tinker with our gadgets and browse the web for the latest in social media.

Sleep deprivation is often associated with too much technology use but sleep disorders used to be the main reason why people have a hard time sleeping back then. Sleep apnea is the most commonly reported along with insomnia and you can usually get a confirmed diagnosis after getting yourself checked in a sleep clinic. https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/zquiet may offer relief to your long sleepless nights caused by sleep apnea. Meanwhile, you can also try https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx, another anti-snoring mouthpiece that can prevent those deadly breathing pauses and stop you from snoring too.

The following blog post Is There Help Available For The Sleep Deprived? was first seen on The Snoring Mouthpiece Review Blog



source https://snoringmouthpiecereview.org/snorerx/is-there-help-available-for-the-sleep-deprived